Several MNTL faculty members and a student were recognized last week by the IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (LEOS) at their annual meeting in Newport Beach, California. Professor Jim Coleman received the 2008 IEEE David Sarnoff Award for his leadership in the development of highly reliable strained-layer lasers. He was also the recipient of the IEEE LEOS Distinguished Service Award for his contributions to and leadership in the area of publications. Professor Coleman was also elected President-Elect for LEOS in 2009. Professor Kent Choquette received the IEEE LEOS Engineering Achievement Award for development of the monolithic selectively oxidized vertical cavity surface emitting laser. Professor S. L. Chuang was elected to a 3-year term as a member of the LEOS Board of Governors. Mr. Seth Fortuna, a graduate student with Professor Xiuling Li, won one of the Student Paper Awards. Please join us in congratulating them for their outstanding distinctions!

IEEE Lasers and Electro-Optics Society Award Winners