Holonyak Lab faculty honored with Chairs, Professorship, and Promotions

8/28/2020 1:07:45 PM Allie Arp, CSL

The Nick Holonyak Jr., Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory has a long history of faculty excellence, including its namesake. That tradition is continued with current faculty, some of whom the Grainger College of Engineering recently recognized through a number of endowed chairs, professorships, and promotions.

“We are delighted to see our faculty being recognized with some of the highest honors and well-deserved promotions,” said Xiuling Li, HMNTL interim director. “I especially wanted to congratulate our junior faculty on their promotion and tenure. I am inspired by colleagues like them every day.”  

Brian Cunningham, Intel Alumni Endowed Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)

Brian Cunningham
Brian Cunningham

Cunningham, a HMNTL resident faculty, also has affiliations in Bioengineering and with the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology as well as being the director of the Digital Diagnostics Foundry. He is a Fellow of IEEE, the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, the Optical Society of America, the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Royal Society of Chemistry. Cunningham also served as the director of MNTL from 2013 to early 2020, including two years as interim director.

The Intel Alumni Endowed Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering was established by dedicated alumni working at Intel.

Paul Braun
Paul Braun

Paul Braun, Grainger Distinguished Chair in Engineering
Braun is the Director of the Materials Research Laboratory, HMNTL affiliate faculty, and the Ivan Racheff Professor of Materials Science and Engineering. He also has a co-appointment in Chemistry and is affiliated with the Department of Mechanical Sciences and Engineering and the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. He is a fellow of the Materials Research Society the recipient of the Illinois MatSE Young Alumnus Award and the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

This honor is given in recognition of distinguished scholarly achievements and leadership in promoting collaborative research.


Xiuling Li
Xiuling Li

Xiuling Li, Donald Biggar Willet Professor in Engineering

Li is currently serving as interim director of Holonyak Lab. She has published more than 150 papers and holds more than 20 patents. Li’s research interests are in the area of nanostructured semiconductor materials and devices. She is a Fellow of IEEE, American Physics Society (APS), and the Optical Society. She is a deputy editor of Applied Physics Letters and serves as the vice president of finance and administration of IEEE Photonics Society.

The Donald Biggar Willet Professorship in Engineering was established by Donald Biggar Willett’s wife, Elizabeth Marie Henning Willett, in his memory.

A sincere congratulations to our faculty receiving promotions this academic year.

  • Can Bayram to Associate Professor with indefinite tenure in ECE
  • Wenjuan Zhu to Associate Professor with indefinite tenure in ECE