Illinois Mark

Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory | U of I

Main Navigation



Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory
208 North Wright Street Urbana, Illinois 61801


Office hours 8:30a - 5:00p


Phone: 217-333-3097
Fax: 217-244-6375


Leslie H. Allen

Leslie H. Allen

Associate Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
246 Materials Science & Eng Bld
1304 W. Green
Urbana, Illinois 61801
(217) 333-7918
Send Email

Research Interests:
Development of a novel nanocalorimetry technique for materials characterization. Thin-film physics, microelectronic processing, interfaces, nano-scale metallurgy, crystal growth, and nanoscale confinement of water.
Undergraduate Research Opportunities:
Scott Andrews (1997) Calorimetry Noise
Desmond Low (1998) Calorimetry Electronics (Amplifier)
Tim Wisleder (1998-2000) Calorimetry Fabrication/Electronics
Paige Reardon (1999-2000) Fabrication Stress Measurement System
Carl Dohrman (2000 – present) Photonics Filters (Paul Braun’s student - EOH)
Chris Ariagno (2000-present) Nanocalorimetry Studies
Wojciech Wolski (2001-2002) Thermal Stability of Polystyrene on Nanocalorimeter
Amanda Habas (2002) Nanocalorimetry
Jonathan Hollander (2002-2003) Nanocalorimeter Thermal Modeling
Lynsa Nguyen (2003) Nanocalorimetry
Brian Bertram (2005) In-situ Resistance during Evaporation (2005)
Darcy Barron (2004-2006) Heat Transfer Modeling Nanocalorimetry
John Naber (2009-2010)
Abigail Chanda (2011)
Yiran Yan (2011-2013)
Rui Ning (2014)
Anisa Nuanes (2014)
For more information:

Honors, Recognition, and Outstanding Achievements for Teaching:

  • UIUC Center for Teaching Excellence (ICES), Teachers Ranked as Excellent by Their Students
  • UIUC College of Engineering, Advisor's List for Advising Excellence

Honors, Recognition, and Outstanding Achievements for Research:

  • Program committee, Annual AVS Microelectronics and Interfaces.
  • Founder's Award - 2003, “Ions at Cornell 1980 –1990” Jim Mayer.
  • Awards Committee, NATAS Annual Conference North American Thermal Analysis Society.
  • UIUC College of Engineering, 2002 Advisor's List for Advising Excellence.
  • NSF National Nanotechnology User Network (NNUN) Review of Best Projects.
  • NSF Sponsored “Cornell Nanofabrication Facility (CNF)” Review Board.
  • Program committee, Annual AVS Microelectronics and Interfaces, Santa Clara, CA.
  • NSF Sponsored “Cornell Nanofabrication Facility (CNF)” Review Board.
  • Alpha Delta Pi "Outstanding Scholar Faculty Recognition Banquet", UIUC.
  • Program committee, 1st Annual AVS Spring Meeting, San Jose, CA.
  • Co-chairman of AVS-ICMCTF96: “Silicide” Session, San Diego, CA.
  • Selected as co-chairman of 1995 MRS "Silicide" Symposium, Boston, MA.
  • Racheff Professor of Materials Science
  • Young Investigator, IBM Materials Processing Program